No multiplayer?

Technical Problems and Issues can be discussed here.

Moderator: Moderators

Beginner
Posts: 3
Joined: 15 Mar 2012 06:37

No multiplayer?

Postby mhawk » 17 Mar 2012 01:59

I heard there are still games going on, how are you guys connecting to play? When I go into GC and multiplayer, it says cannot get server list. Any help?

Board-General
User avatar
Posts: 124
Joined: 27 Jan 2012 17:21

Re: No multiplayer?

Postby Sarvik » 17 Mar 2012 12:16

http://gcvets.wordpress.com/new-players/

Long story short: as you have GC already installed you simply need to install gameranger. If people are playing then there is/are GC room(s) visible in gameranger which you just need to join. You do not need to start GC yourself for that, Gameranger will start it up automatically then game starts.

Also its good idea to download custom maps:
http://nbek.org/external/GC/allGCMaps.zip

Board-Major
User avatar
Posts: 87
Joined: 01 Mar 2012 20:15
Location: Oxfordshire, England

Re: No multiplayer?

Postby Chumpit » 17 Mar 2012 18:50

Hey there bud. As Sarvik said, because there are no servers anymore we play through gameranger and it actually works pretty good (for everyone except me). Gameranger seems to create an artificial LAN and then GC runs in LAN mode. Also its pretty much limited to Friday and Saturday nights from 10pm GMT which is when we all meet up.

Board-General
User avatar
Posts: 142
Joined: 23 Jan 2012 00:45
Location: Germany

Re: No multiplayer?

Postby [Crayven-Marine] » 23 Mar 2012 22:27

Hey mhawk,

nice to see you again. Indeed, GameRanger like Hamachi creates an VLAN (Virtual LAN), so its like an ethernet connection. Depending on where you are and behind what FW you sit, you can play GC well.
_______________________________

“Consider your origin; you were not born to live like brutes, but to follow virtue and knowledge.” - Dante

Return to Ground Control - TechNote

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests